KN Education


Nishan-e-Haider (Urdu: نشان حیدر, translated as "Emblem of Haider, where Haider is the epithet of Ali and means Lion", abbreviated as NH), is the highest military award given by Pakistan. It was established in 1957 after Pakistan became a Republic, however, it was instituted retrospectively back to 1947. It is awarded to military personnel, regardless of rank, for extraordinary bravery in combat.[3] The award is considered to be the highest military award and is only awarded to those who have sacrificed their life. Its exclusivity may be gauged by the fact that since it was established only 10 awards have been made, along with one equivalent award. To date all awards have been made posthumously. Of the 10 recipients, 9 have been from the Pakistan Army, one has been from the Pakistan Air Force. As yet there have been no recipients from the Pakistan Navy.


  1. Captain Muhammad Sarwar Shaheed (1910–July 27, 1948), 6/8 Punjab
  2. Major Muhammad Tufail Shaheed (1914–August 7, 1958), 1 Battlion East Pakistan Rifles
  3. Major Raja Abdul Aziz Bhatti Shaheed (1928–September 10, 1965), 17 Punjab
  4. Major Muhammad Akram Shaheed (1938–1971), 4 FF
  5. Pilot Officer Rashid Minhas Shaheed (1951–August 20, 1971), PAF Training Squadron
  6. Major Shabbir Sharif Shaheed (1943–December 6, 1971), 6 FF
  7. Sawar Muhammad Hussain Shaheed(1949–December 10, 1971), 20 Lancers
  8. Lance Naik Muhammad Mahfuz Shaheed (1944–December 17, 1971), 15 Punjab
  9. Captain Karnal Sher Khan Shaheed (1970–July 5, 1999), 27 Sindh
  10. Havaildar Lalak Jan Shaheed (1967–July 7, 1999), 12 NLI.

  Bookmark and Share  
Bookmark and Share
Enter your e-mail address to subscribe to our mailing list...
Powered by Aardvark Mailing List
This website was created for free with Would you also like to have your own website?
Sign up for free